CME Information

Original Release Date: November 1, 2013
Date of most recent review: October 19, 2016 (content updated)
Date of most recent activity accreditation: November 1, 2016
Expiration Date: December 31, 2018

CDL-Certified Medical Examiner Training

Effective May 2014, ALL medical certificates issued to interstate truck and bus drivers must come from medical examiners on the National Registry.

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) initiated by rule the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME), with the purpose of improving highway safety and driver health, the requirement that medical examiners be trained and certified to determine if a commercial motor vehicle driver meets the health and physical qualification standards set by the FMCSA.

This rule requires that all medical examiners who conduct physical examinations for interstate commercial motor vehicle drivers:

  • Be licensed, certified, or registered to perform physical examinations in accordance with applicable State laws and regulations;
  • Complete required training by an approved Training Provider;
  • Pass the ME Certification Test to demonstrate a sound understanding of FMCSA’s physical qualification standards; and
  • Complete periodic training and recertification testing.

This education activity will help medical examiners understand and apply the FMCSA qualification standards for conducting CMV physical examinations.

Upon conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:

  • Demonstrate an understanding of the FMCSA physical qualification requirements and the demands of commercial driving, driver tasks, and the work environment.
  • Enable medical examiners to assess the driver’s medical fitness for duty using FMCSA federal driver qualification standards and medical guidelines and with an awareness of the physical, cognitive, and behavioral demands associated with the job of commercial driving.
  • Define the FMCSA”s driver physical qualifications, standards, and medical advisory criteria for findings gathered during the driver’s medical examination.
  • Perform driver certification examination in accordance with FMCSA physical qualification requirements and medical guidelines.
  • Make certification decision, to the best of ability, which reduce the risk for crashes, injuries, and fatalities.
  • Proceed to the testing phase of the NRCME certificate process.

Carla Huitt, MD, MPH
Nicole Clark, MD
LeeAnn Muzquiz, MD
Gladys E. Young, MD
Greg Vanichkachorn, MD, MPH

Instructions for receiving CME credit:
To receive credit, participants must take the 20-question pretest, read the entire activity, and complete the same 20-question posttest. A passing score is 75%, and a certificate will be issued upon successful completion of the posttest. Please fill out the evaluation survey upon completion

Certification/Recertification Period:
The FMCSA certification will expire 10 years from the date of issue. After the initial training and certification, a ME must complete periodic training every 5 years to refresh his or her knowledge of the medical standards for CMV drivers and any changes to FMCSA examination standard/guidelines. MEs are required to complete recertification testing every 10 years. FMCSA may remove a ME from the National Registry the periodic training or recertification testing is not completed.

Carla Huitt, MD, MPH – has no disclosures to report
Nicole Clark, MD – discloses the following – Teva Neuroscience, Speakers Bureau; Cyberonics, Speakers Bureau
LeeAnn Muzquiz, MD – has no disclosures to report
Gladys E. Young, MD – has no disclosures to report
Greg Vanichkachorn, MD, MPH – has no disclosures to report

All other planners in control of the content of this activity have disclosed no financial relationships.

CME Credit:

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the Pennsylvania Medical Society and Montana Medical Association. The Pennsylvania Medical Society is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.
The Pennsylvania Medical Society designates this enduring material for a maximum of 9.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

System Requirements:
PC: Microsoft® Windows® XP, Windows 7, or Windows 8 or more recent
MAC: OS X v10.7 or 10.8, iOS 6.x (iPad) or more recent
Android OS 4.1.2 or more recent